House of Hawthorne

Why I Moved to Kentucky: The Long Answer

Posted on: January 29, 2014

My friend from college just asked me in response to my recent post why I moved to Kentucky. And I need to remember because it’s one of those weeks, you know. I need to count my blessings for a moment. Bear with me if you hate my “relationship” posts.

The reason I moved to Kentucky is because my boyfriend and I stole his best friend’s four-wheeler one day.

As soon as we got to Kentucky we started drinking what may or may not have been moonshine, and mornings after nights like that are when my boyfriend and I have the most fun, I figure. Do we have drinking problems? Sure. Do we have a blast? Constantly. Sorry, everybody that knows us well and worries about that aspect of our lives. It is what it is, as he would say.

So anyway, we wake up and there’s another gallon of alcohol and four-wheeler keys on the counter. How nice of Blake, we thought and just went. As is typical in our relationship, it was my first time on a four-wheeler and his 87,000th. We rode through a field of cows, visited old family friends of his, went to revel on the pebbly coast of the lake. He showed me where he grew up, he told me his stories, and I fell in love with him all over again. He has such a command and sense of presence everywhere he goes, but we were in the place he knew better than any other on a vehicle he could drive like a professional. Let me tell you, that kind of deep-seeded competence is as hot as hell.

It wasn’t a perfect day, of course. It’s us. We drove deep into the forest and broke the four-wheeler. Up we walked, a couple miles, for tools. Back we walked, and had a super hard time finding it. He fixed it, as he does (I don’t worry about things breaking anymore, at all), and started it up. Out of gas. Back and forth we went, exhausted and thirsty. (I wonder if alcohol de-hydrates you or something. Nah.) We almost got ran over by a pick-up truck. I wasn’t holding on well enough for a particular wheelie and fell off the back. And it turned out Blake hadn’t left the keys as an invitation for a joyride, so he got pretty mad. For a few months.

But at the end of that day, as I know at the end of every one still, there is no one else I’d rather be clinging on for dear life. That makes me sound kinda bad actually. Let’s say, be next to. So when he told his uncle the reason we were down was he was trying to get me to move to Kentucky with him, I was stars in my eyes, head-over-heels, ready to go wherever he asked.

That and rent is super cheap. Move to the South, people. You can still make art and music and work jobs and whatever.

Tags:

7 Responses to "Why I Moved to Kentucky: The Long Answer"

What a beautiful story! I love love love this story and it’s even better because its a true story!! 🙂

Thank you April! Me too haha.

I agree with April. When you write about yourself, or should I say IF you’re going to do that, write with honesty – for better or worse – “warts and all”, as we say down here. Be all in. Avoid vague statements and half explanations – if you’re brave enough (and you are, if you’re with Austin) to write about your experiences (as you’re doing), wait until you”ve mustered up the wherewithall to withstand any fallout (i.e., judgement of others) to tell the whole story: how it happened, what you were feeling, what you learned, what you didn’t. “Wear Your Seatbelt” left readers (well, me) with questions and therefore mentally filling in the blanks with assumptions. For a writer, nothing could be worse than your audience writing the end of your story with their own imaginations. This, however, is excellent – warts and all – super entertaining and I could just see you and Austin riding up and down Hwy. 1422 on an ATV. The check is in the mail!

Okay I’ve been cooped up/snowed in for 2 days so if that sounded harsh I did not mean for it to! Chalk it up to lack of human interaction for 48 hours. You know how much I admire your bravery and honesty and talent in your posts, it’s something I would never have the guts to do! Keep up the good work. And I really meant it when I said a check is in the mail.

Haha no it didn’t sound harsh I totally agree with what you said. Sometimes you write something and you’re like … nah. And other times booyah. (That was great writing right there.) I loved reading about your weather experience and that was just in a Facebook comment! And thank you so much, seriously. In advance and for the words.

Also sent the next issue of Sun for more inspiration! Mail hasn’t run in two days so look for stuff I guess around Saturday…

Good post. Send me your email address.

Sent from my iPad

>

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 550 other followers

Whatsit

twitter

