House of Hawthorne

New Year, New Anonymous Enemy

Posted on: January 6, 2014

image

I was working until 1 a.m. on New Year’s Eve and at about 11 a.m. a woman who I never will forgive said to the person she was currently on the phone with, “You know, they say what you’re doing at midnight on New Year’s Eve is what you’ll be doing the rest of the year.” “Oh my God, please don’t say that.” She looked up and registered me as a human being and laughed into the phone, “Haha, this girl working at the gas station right now just told me not to say that, haha.” “Have a great night and happy new year,” I said, meanly. Okay, maybe not meanly. I’m a customer service pro.

Ever since she said that, it’s been spinning around my mind. (Be careful what you say to strangers, they may be terribly prone to overthinking.) Last year on New Year’s at midnight, I was exactly where I wanted to be, kissing my boyfriend. Not some big romantic kiss, and it turns out he may or may not remember it, but it was very much emblematic of 2013. True, we didn’t just kiss all last year, despite my very concerted efforts. But it set a good, solid tone, at least for me.

I really am grateful to have a job, don’t get me wrong. Eating food is cool. It really is. I kinda just want a New Year’s Eve re-do, even though I know there’s nothing magical about that particular minute. And I really must say if that lady hadn’t said that, I wouldn’t still be thinking about it, and may have not made some of the tiny steps I have since to get something else going in my life. So as mad as she made me at the time, hopefully I’ll end up thanking her. Just seriously, please be careful what you say to strangers, you really might be talking to the world’s biggest worrier.

I hope your 2014 is magical.

4 Responses to "New Year, New Anonymous Enemy"

She probably crashed on the way home-releasing whatever curse she had on you. Don’t worry, I know exactly how witches and curses work. 2014: Everything’s coming up Virginia.

Haha I love it! Thanks Matty

I say if she’s a caustic bitch at midnight, she is every day of the year. You were working to support yourself on NYE– and that’s something to be proud of, V. Don’t let that woman get to you– joke’s on her.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 550 other followers

Whatsit

twitter

