House of Hawthorne

The $58.01 Question

Posted on: November 22, 2011

I don’t make a ton of money, believe it or not, and I choose the events I attend carefully. My normal event is, hopefully, friends from out of town doing something creative for ten dollars or less. You’ll also find the necessary birthdays. Other than that, I may drink some beers now and again, and I like to buy Chinese food every once in a while. That’s about it! I go to a full-price movie at best once a year, and under duress. Two of my favorite musical artists can be on tour, (Jay-Z and Kanye’s tour, for example) and I know without checking the price that it is too rich for my blood. The summary is, I guess, the first sentiment; I don’t make a ton of money.

There is an event coming up, though, that costs $58.01 to attend. Do you know what I could do with $58.01? I could take my bus 33 times. I could buy seven pitchers of beer at Bobby’s Tap. I could buy the Drake album, the two Jillian Michaels DVDs I keep checking out from the library, and take myself out to lunch at China House twice. I could buy 27 Monster Rehabs for crying out loud!

The event in question is a big one. It’s the Homecoming Tour. Featuring Dwyane Wade, Chris Paul, Carmelo Anthony and that big jerk, Lebron James. (Read my thoughts on Lebron here.)

Gor! As that funny little character Mig in The Tale of Despereaux says. (By the way, read that book! So delightful.) I have real, spirit love in my heart for Chris Paul, think Carmelo is awesome but am kinda confused that he’s not hosting his “homecoming” game in Baltimore, semi-irrationally hate Lebron James and pretty much think Dwyane Wade is a twerp. As my dad just texted me: “I am so out with him he looks like Bartman to me.”

And yet, I think this may be worth 27 Monster Rehabs.

But how do I collect 27 energy drinks and not buy them at one time? (Personal finance is not my strong suit. Please advise.)

1 Response to "The $58.01 Question"

Can you say Christmas OT?? Do it!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 550 other followers

Whatsit

twitter

