House of Hawthorne

My Summer Reading Log

Posted on: June 28, 2011

I finished my summer reading log yesterday. There are other books I’ve read this summer but they fell outside the dates of the program, and if you read like I do, you have to strictly follow the rules of your library’s summer reading program. Basically this year you only had to read six books anyway. In previous years they had more categories, which was kinda neat because I read a Western for the first time, Robert Parker’s Appaloosa, and was so delighted by how sparse and matter-of-factly he writes I read that series. Haven’t read the mystery series though.

At any rate, the first book I read for the old log was Red Seas Under Red Skies by Scott Lynch. This is the second book in the Gentlemen Bastards series, the first of which, The Lies of Locke Lamora, my brother is trying to get everyone in town to read, literally. These are great fun books, easy on the fantasy, but heavy on the gasps and laughs. The second book was in a few ways more enjoyable if not as fully realized. I mean, you know, they become pirates. That shouldn’t spoil any of the first book, I hope.

The next book on the list was Divergent by Veronica Roth. As someone who spends a whole lot of time talking about books to young adults, I am always interested in those books that people compare to the Hunger Games. I loved Hunger Games, of course. It set the bar crazy high for teen boks fpr me. Your young female characters don’t need to kick some mighty tail but I want to feel like a responsible adult when I recommend these books to teen girls. Well, I recommend Divergent. It has the same kind of feel as the Hunger Games and another series I love, Uglies, but it still feels new and fresh. In a society where personality types dominate the social strata, it makes sense that people who exhibit multiple characteristics would have an advantage and also be a threat. Actually more than Hunger Games it reminded me of The Giver by Lois Lowry. Fantastic.

The fourth book I read (will return to the third in a paragraph) was Lies by Michael Grant. This is the third book in the Gone series which I would also recommend for Hunger Games fans. I read the first two books in this series straight up holding my breath. This one, to be honest, left me scratching my head. I will read the next book in this series because I was so confused by the ending of this one. And, you know, I’m not, like, dumb. The conceit of the series is a barn burner, though. Everyone over the age of 14 disappears, and the remaining kids have to run their town. The situation makes heroes and villains and is generally a thrilling read. I just hope beyond all hopes that at some point the readers get to see the characters actually… safe.

The third book I read was The Alchemyst by Michael Scott. As three of the books in my log were part of this series and I am currently about midway throug the fourth, I’ll just tell you that these are great books and let my literally not being able to read anything else for a good while be their recommendation.

Happy summer reading!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 550 other followers

Whatsit

twitter

