House of Hawthorne

The “W” Rappers

Posted on: June 23, 2011

I’ve been going round and round my iPod lately, and I have just about had it up to here. I need some new music in my life. Luckily, there’s all these rappers out there that I don’t really know anything about besides Kevin Durant’s tweets about them (http://twitter.com/KDTrey5) so why not start with them? Luckily they all start with the letter W. Wale, Wiz Khalifa and Waka Flocka Flame. Oh and I am curious about Gucci Mane too, even though his name frustratingly doesn’t start with the letter W.

I sat down to our Nintendo Wii and went on to the Youtube that we can now use after a bargaining agreement with one of the upstairs neighbors. I just watched whatever was the first result when I searched their names, which I think was probably their oldest video, because they were all delightfully homemade. These guys have record labels, now, of course, so I’m sure their videos now are slicker. I’m going to pick at the end of this which rapper I’m going to back, which matters! Full disclosure: I have been exposed to the music of Wiz Khalifa a little because I have been curious about all these rappers for a long time and I made a Wiz Khalifa Pandora station.

Here goes, the “W” Rappers Video Notes.

Wale’s video is one of the most recent ones, and has that Gaga advantage. Let’s see what I thought about that:

Answer to my “Will research”: M.I.A. didn’t reference Lady Gaga’s M.I.A. impersonation, surprisingly.

Watch the video for yourself, I insist.

Next:

Answer to my “Will research”: E. Dan. Now I know. What a difference coming up with a genuinely good producer makes.

Watch for yourself:

Waka Flocka Flame! What a fun name to say!

I dunno. More Waka Flocka research required. Watch for yourself:

Lastly but it turns out leastly:

Answer to my “Will research”: Oh, I would have recognized that on a better screen than what I watched it on. It’s a Bart Simpson chain. You got me, Gucci. You got me.

Watch:

That was fun. I feel so young! I pick Wiz Khalifa.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 550 other followers

Whatsit

twitter

