House of Hawthorne

Ruminations about Lebron

Posted on: June 14, 2011

Last summer at least half of my free time was spent listening to sports radio hypothesizing as to the intentions of a certain Mr. Lebron James. The Bulls were in the mix, it seemed, even though now that mix seems to have been designed to make certain flyover states and the New York metropolitan area look like a bunch of idiots. Actually, I don’t know what the NBA free agency period last summer and culminating decision was meant to accomplish. You have to assume that there were shadowy men in suits behind the whole thing but at some point a person like Lebron never even thinks to ask “Hey, don’t you guys think that this is going to make everyone kind of hate me?” If I truly believed that Lebron thrived in any way while being hated, The Decision makes sense. The victory rally at the beginning of the season makes sense. But neither Lebron nor D. Wade have that persecution complex. They seem to enjoy being beloved public figures.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that none of us fans, no matter how intense we can be about following the NBA, will ever know an athlete’s true motivations. All I can do at some point is filter all the information I have into a feeling about a person. I’m not the one creating your public persona, you are, and you and your team have to at some point be accountable for the way the public thinks about you.

Of course, at the end of the workday, it’s about results. The Mavs winning the championship made me happy for a few reasons but paramount is that identification I made at the beginning of the season along with dare I say millions of people: Lebron doesn’t care about fans like me. He can win or lose, but he decided that he would rather win than be liked, in a highly public fashion. I’m more than happy to oblige.

1 Response to "Ruminations about Lebron"

[…] The event in question is a big one. It’s the Homecoming Tour. Featuring Dwyane Wade, Chris Paul, Carmelo Anthony and that big jerk, Lebron James. (Read my thoughts on Lebron here.) […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 550 other followers

Whatsit

twitter

